Muğla Will Become A Metropolitan

29th, 2011
Share This : Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on VKShare on LinkedInDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponPrint this page

According to the news published today in “Bugün” News,  11 provinces will have the status of the Metropolitan, and Muğla is among them. Van is at the top of the list and Muğla is the fifth among the cities to be included in the metropolitan status.

Just before June elections, Prime Minister RecepTayyip Erdogan pledged to make 11 provinces metropolitan city, and after the earthquake he ordered to speed up the work. AK Party Deputy Chairman Hüseyin Tanrıverdi said We aim to relieve the wounds of Van by entitling the city as metropolitan. According to the draft law by the Ministry of the Interior, 11 provinces will have the status of the Metropolitan and van is at the top of this list. Together with Van, Manisa, Aydın, Balıkesir, Muğla, Tekirdağ, Kahramanmaraş, Denizli,Hatay, Şanlıurfa and Trabzon are on the list. Amendment to the Metropolitan Municipality Law, the borders of the province will be accepted as the boundaries of the metropolitan municipality. Erciş also will be entered into the borders of Van Metropolitan Municipality along with Van.  To become a metropolitan, the number of population should be 750 thousand within the borders of the province. Malatya has missed the opportunity with 10 thousand. AK Party Deputy Chairman Hüseyin Tanrıverdi reminded CHP’s bill of law on making Erciş a province. “Our pledge is to make Van a metropolitan, therefore, there is no need to make Erciş a province. Once Van is a  Metropolitan Municipality, Erciş will also be in metropolitan borders.

News 1.608 views
Tags: ,